just out ofschool

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by stockie, Jan 7, 2001.

1. stockie

stockie LawnSite Member

Hey guys, this questions is geared more for the owners of a company. I amfrom Mass. andwill be graduating from the Stockbridge School of Agriculture in May. I dont know if any of you out there know about it. Basicly its a 2 year program thatcovers just about all material from plant biology, to insect ID, to design to tree care. I was wondering what you would have as a starting pay for someone like myself. I have 5 years experience and this spring will be my 6th. Thanks alot
  2. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

What aspect of the green industry are you interested in??

3. stockie

stockie LawnSite Member

i am into landscape construction and maintenence
  4. kutnkru

Ball park figures:

Grounds Care:
    see EMPLOYEE WAGES by tlcgrounds under lawn forum.

Landscape Construction:
    approx. $10/hr start w/ salary cap @ $15.
    90 day probation period (+) $1/hr raise upon completion.
    Raises based on merit.

approx. $9/hr start w/ salary cap @ $12.
    90 day probation period (+) $1/hr raise upon completion.
    Raises based on merit (+) Commission = 5% of your Fert sales.

Best of luck to you in your venture.
  5. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Since you have the education and experience, why settle for working for someone else for $12 hr. Get out there for yourself. Thats the only true way in this buz to make real money.
  6. EDL

EDL LawnSite Member
    from MA

Congrats, I graduated in 95', You are probably looking around 15/hr. But listen to 65hoss, if you feel comfortable with your experience in the field get out there and start your own business. You will gain more experience by starting a company, than working for one. Tom
  7. Scraper

Scraper LawnSite Bronze Member