1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Just starting, is this a fair deal?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by DR1, Jan 17, 2007.

1. DR1

DR1 LawnSite Member

I'm just getting started in the business and would like to post an offer I was given to purchase someones equipment and accounts. I am trying to figure out if this sounds like a good deal or if I would be better off starting from scratch. This is my first post, thank you in advance for your replies.

Price: $50,000
    Revenue: 2006 - over $130,000 w/ add-on services
    Employees: 2 would like to transfer to new owner
    Employee pay rate:$12/hr and $15/hr
    Accounts: 35
    Type: Approx. 80% residential 20% commercial
    Accounts status: all in very good standing
    Equipment: Well maintained
    48" deck walk behind
    36" same
    36" same
    21" push mower
    21" same
    1 walk behind blower
    2 back pack blowers
    2 string trimmers
    1 edger
    1 chain saw
    6'x12' trailer w/tail ramp
    misc. tools
    Truck 2000 F-250 (needs new engine) -my current vehicle can tow to start with.
    The two employees know the routes and customers. . The current owner is eager to accept a new job offer. He gave me an option to work out a payment plan with him.

Thanks again,

David Russell
    alt.email: russellru@gmail.com
  2. MarcSmith

MarcSmith LawnSite Fanatic

if you two employee work a full year 2080 hours they will be owned 56K since he listed revenue I asume that it prior to any expense. 35 accounts, unless they are really really huge could be done with a lot less, and you know about traffic in NOVA....25 miles can take over an hour in travel time.

Are the accounts contracted? IE is their a peice of paper saying that this custoemr woudl agree to this service for this price.