Just Starting out...Advise Needed

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Primates, Jan 28, 2002.

1. Primates

Primates LawnSite Member

I am a university student who is sick of working summer jobs inside cramped offices and want to run my own lawn care biz this summer. Need some advise?

Q1: Can I make money if I only run this biz for 1 summer. Need to make about 6000 to cover school costs. I currently have no equipment or customers. Is this feasiable? (I do have a truck)

Q2: When do you collect from customers. After each job? Contract per month? etc..

Thanks for the help

2. TaylorLawn

TaylorLawn LawnSite Member

As far as just starting out, there is no way to be customer freindly if you are looking to do it for only the summer...My advice to you is to find a landscaper in your area and work for them for a while.....I too was in college and looked for something different, as it has turned out I started my own business and never looked back (14 years ago)....At the moment I am making more $ than I ever thought I could, but that is because I am in a location which afforded me the luxury of working year round and I kept with it, mainly because I started cutting lawns when I was only 10 years old......But you never know.....This business is a customer oriented facility......and if you can not be there for them for years to come dont try.......but get involved and learn what it's all about and you may do well..........ET

3. CSRA Landscaping

CSRA Landscaping LawnSite Bronze Member

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but there's no real quick fix in this line of work, so far as I've seen. It takes a lot of patience and hard work. If you want to, I'm sure that you could find a way that you could make $6k over the summer doing it but you could probably do that with something else as well.