Lawn Care Forum banner

Just starting out need advice

4K views 17 replies 14 participants last post by  Mightymowinc 
#1 ·
I am just starting out and a friend of mine has 2 mowers he will sell me for pretty cheap just so I can get my lawn care business started and before I post my 2 options I already know they are not top of the line commercial mowers but I cant afford anything else right now.. He says I can have my pick of his used JD LA145 with 80 hours on it or his Troy built Mustang ZTR zero turn with 110 hours on it for $1300... nothing wrong with either one of them, both look really good. my question is which one should i get and why? Here are the specs on the 2 mowers and thanks for any advice you can give.

Troy Built ZTR:

• Infinite-speed dual hydrostatic transmission with large 1" drive axle
• Extra-wide 50" triple-blade mowing deck
• 4 adjustable & greasable anti-scalp deck wheels for a smoother cut
• Electric power take-off (PTO) for fast & easy blade engagement
• Ground-following solid steel pivoting front axle
• Standard front axle grease fittings for long service life
• Fully welded steel frame
• 2-way adjustable lap bars provide near infinite positioning
• Comfortable high-back seat with dual suspension springs
• Large, greasable 13" front casters
• Standard rear bumper
• 25 HP Kohler Courage V-Twin engine

John Deere LA145:

# Cutting Width : 48 in
# Engine Displacement : 656 cm³
# Engine Make : Briggs and Stratton
# Engine Torque (Ft./Lb.) : 656
# Engine Type : Gas
# Fuel Tank Capacity : 4 gal (US)
# Horsepower (hp) : 22 hp
# Housing Material : Steel
# Mower Deck Width : 48 in
# Mulching Capability : Yes
# Number of Cylinders : 2
# Start Type : Electric
# Turning Radius : 18 in

See less See more
#2 ·