Lawn Care Forum banner

just starting out this coming season

3K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  gpservices 
#1 ·
not sure what kind of mower to buy, including maker, walk/stand behind, zero turn, how much I should expect to pay...any advise would be awesome, thanks.

#3 ·
Also you're going to want to know nearby dealers if you're planning to purchase new. If you're buying used you want to be able to bring it somewhere it can be serviced without going to far and paying to much if you can't do it yourself. Just something to think about.

#5 ·
Thanks for the replies, all. I have plenty of experience, I'm just changing careers after being laid off last April and not being able to replace that income. Starting with residential, but i have the opportunity to get into some commercial work as well. If you had to start with one mower that would get you thru both, not too big not too small, which would you choose? I'm budgeting $4k.

#6 ·
You'd be pressed to find a used ztr without lots of hours at that price. Id look at a nice used stander or walk-behind...

Some companies are offering some pretty awesome financing depending on your situation.

#7 ·
Prophet, If your just starting out and not expecting a lot of wear and tear such as extremely bumpy or hilly lawns, you might want to check out the Toro Time Cutter zero turn for about $2800. That is if your lawns require a bigger mower. Otherwise, I would recommend a few different types of walk behinds such as the Exmark, or the Husqvarna.

Make sure it will fit in a back yard though

#10 ·
I used to work part time at a Toro dealer.... sorry to say I'd never recommend toro's residential series mower for a commercial application. I'd run a commercial walk behind before those.