1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Just starting out..

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Poncho25, May 23, 2006.

1. Poncho25

Poncho25 LawnSite Senior Member

This forum seems to be full with great info from all of you who have been doing this for some time. I am just starting out my own lawn care company, just finished purchasing all my basic equipment. My question is this, I know of someone who has about 20 accounts and they are looking to sell them, is it worth jumping into someone Else's accounts? Or should I just beat the street :walking: and start from square 1? I am hopping to be incorporated by the end of this week, insured, and get my new enclosed 6 x 12 trailer. I have also been tossing around ideas for the name of the company, my wife likes "Alien Lawn Care :for service out of this world: " what do you all think of that? Also any other tips to start would be greatly appreciated, ask any questions to me to help with this...

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Most of the time is is best NOT to take over someones accounts as he is selling for a reason. Most of the time because they are not good or priced right.
    If you are up and running and know about your overhead and costs than taking on another 20 or so can work out but I would not do it to start.
    If each one is just off by a dollar- you are working 1/2 your week at a loss.
    You will have to sell your next 20 jobs at more than they are worth (very hard to do) just to break even.
  3. Buckeye2006

Buckeye2006 LawnSite Member
    from Ohio