Just Starting Out

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawn Works 1, Feb 16, 2003.

1. Lawn Works 1

Lawn Works 1 LawnSite Member

Hey guys. I have just subscribed to this lawn site but I have been reading threads on here every night since another LCO told me about it. I am just starting out with my new bussiness. I am 18 but I have been mowing semi- commercially on and off since I was 13. I am just looking for pointers to help me start out. I have ordered postcard size flyers to pass ou when I go door to door since this seems t be the best way to get your name out there. I plan to offer a 5% discount on referals. Here is a list of my planned expenses.

Truck (94 Dodge 1500 5.2L)
    Mower 1 (Great Dane Scampe HG 17Hp/52")
    Mower 2 (Great Dane Super Surfer 22Hp/ 52")
    Push Mower (?????)
    Weedeater *2 (Echo srm- 2100)
    Striping Kit ( Big League Lawns LLC)
    Backpack Blower (Echo PB-602)
    Electric trailer Brakes (already have 16' tandem ax. trailer)
    Weedeater racks (Trimmer Trap TT-2)
    Advertising Biz Cards & Truch Magnets)
    Groundskeeper Pro

Is there anything here that you think I will or wont need???
    I hope to get between 50 and 80 accounts.
    Thanks For the help
  2. gogetter

gogetter Banned

First I want to commend you for doing at least a little research before posting.

It looks like you have it pretty well worked out so far.
    I'm curious about the mowers. Are these something you already have?
    I assume you're planning on a helper (to run the 2nd 52" mower)?.
    As far as the magnetic signs, you may want to look into vinyl lettering. It looks more proffessional because it
    looks more perminent and the cost difference isn't all that big.

Good luck!
  3. Lawn Works 1

Thanks gogetter.