Just Wanted To Say Thanks !!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Turfer, Jun 23, 2000.

1. Turfer

Turfer LawnSite Member

I received lots of help from you guys on the short time I've been on this forum, (my $50 is on it's way to Chuck) and I just wanted to say thanks for all the advice. I'm a part timer, probably a scrub Mr. Stone, that wants to be full time as soon as my threshold is reached as far as time spent doing lawn work vs. my full time job. I'm following a business plan to get to that point. I'm a systems manager at a large southeastern bank (18 years). My employer is slowly hacking away at my level and my office is cold with no windows. I can't wait to get home every day so I can start my lawn work even though I usually finish up around 9:00 p.m. but I'm smiling the whole time. In my first official month in the business, I did a large clean up and mulch job, laid a drainage pipe, sprayed some bushes for mites, cut 4 yards weekly, bid on another residential, bid on a commercial, bid on several annual fertilization jobs and have a chance to get 10 model homes from the areas largest builder. Things are getting busy! I also got my turf and ornamental license this past month. I still have not sold my John Deere rider. I'm cutting with my trusty honda push. I've pretty much decided on a walkbehind when I sell it. This doesn't look like much to most of you guys but this makes me really happy and I could not have done any of it without the advice I got from so many of you. I'm 40 years old with a family and facing a career change is really scary when you've got so much ahead of you. You guys made me believe I could do it and now I know I can. Oh yea, I'm also building a deck next week after work. Does anyone do carpentry on the side ?<br>The only down side is I have tons of sweaty clothes with mulch, grass and dirt adhered to them. My wife is scared of them. I can't wait for my first full time day. I'm going to wear my best &quot;banker blue&quot; suit and w