Kansas City Mowing Market

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by OPLawns, Jul 15, 2006.

1. OPLawns

OPLawns LawnSite Member

Hello everyone, my name is Scott and I am in the Kansas City area and new to this forum. I am currently a student at Kansas State and will be graduating shortly. I am considering starting a commercial lawn mowing business in the Johnson County area. I have a few questions that some of your experience may help to answer:

(As a preface, I must mention that through highschool I mowed 30-40 lawns per week with a truck/trailer/commercial equip...so I have a good base of experience for estimating, billing, and scheduling)

1) Is anyone on this forum familiar with the KC mowing market? Do you feel that it is over-saturated with lawn care businesses? HOW EASY WAS IT FOR YOU TO COME UP WITH A SUBSTANCIAL AMOUNT OF ACCOUNTS IN A SHORT AMOUNT OF TIME?
    2) This is a glimpse at my business plan: Start one crew next season with me anD one employee mowing around 2.5 residential lawns per hour for a 40 hour week. Invest about 30K into truck, trailer, and commercial equip. Next season, start another crew and promote the old employee to a foreman position on the original crew and invest another 30K into a second truck, trailer, and two more mowers that are larger for the more commercial accounts and hire one more employee to help me with the second crew. So the plan is to have around 200 residential accounts (total) or less if there are more commcerial accounts mixed in by my second season. DOES THIS SOUND OUT OF THE QUESTION?
    3) I also plan to plow in the winter with each of my trucks and realize that most contracts in Kansas/Missouri are on triggers and bill per push. DOES THIS SOUND RIGHT FOR OUR AREA? HOW MUCH DO YOU GUYS CHARGE PER SQ FT/ACRE?