Kawasaki 23HP loss of Power

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by woodenspoke, May 11, 2006.

1. woodenspoke

woodenspoke LawnSite Member

I have a Kawasaki V Twin FH680V with about 300 hours on the engine. This spring everything was going fine (not a commercial user but using a commercial Husqvarna mower) last week my engine lost power about 20 minutes into the job, my RPM’s fell and the engine struggled to continue mowing. After 24hrs rest the problem comes back again in 15-20 minutes. I have changed the oil, oil filter, plugs, air filter and gas filter with no change. Being a non mechanic my only thoughts are gas line blockage or a carburetor problem, any ideas?;)

2. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

My 17hp and a few others on here have the same problem. One guy fixed by putting a electric fuel pump on his. Another by replacing fuel lines. Speaking of this problem I think I will e-mail kawi's service dept. and see if they have anything to say about this.

3. Restrorob

Restrorob LawnSite Fanatic

Kawasaki states to check and adjust valves every 300 hrs., I had a unit in the shop last week with 285 hrs. doing about the same thing (loss of power).
    I performed the valve adjustment and found the customer had replaced the air filter with the wrong one as per the service bulletin below. So valve adjustment, new plugs and the proper air filter took care of the problem on that one.
    The aftermarket company we were getting filters from stated theirs replaced both but I found they were wrong so watch out with aftermarket filters.

Maybe this will help.

FH Air Filter S.B. (Medium).JPG

4. woodenspoke