Kawasaki owners PLEASE help

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Envy Lawn Service, Mar 9, 2003.

1. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Can those of you that have 17hp & 19hp Kawi's help me out?

How much do you think it's really worth ($) to upgrade from a 17 to a 19?

I have NO prior experience with Kawi engines. All I have ever owned is Kolher and Briggs. With some Kolher engines I have noticed little or no difference between 2 HP. With Briggs, I have seen one labled 17hp and an identical one labeled 21hp. So no difference but the sticker. I don't know if this is the case with Kawi or not.

I'm excluding brand names and giving correct or approximate figures for reasons that should be obvious. TO PREVENT A BRAND WAR.

Now to the specifics of what the engine load will be...

Mower A 17hp 44" cut, 23x9.5-12 tires, around 1000lbs

Mower B 19hp 44" cut, 20x10-10 tires, around 1000lbs

Mower C 17hp 48" cut, 20x10-10 tires, around 800 lbs

I weigh 200 lbs I'd I will be running a mulch kit most of the time.

I tried to take those numbers and figure out where each mower ranked as far as engine load is conserned so I wouldn't have to post all this. But all I did is confuse myself.

:blush:

Please help, because if everything goes as planned I need to snatch one of these ASAP!

2. grassdaddy

grassdaddy LawnSite Senior Member

I have 17kaw on 48"WB it has been excellent engine, however , what a 17 will do, a 19 will do better!:eek:

3. jason r.

jason r. LawnSite Senior Member

envy,
    I have a 17 KAW on a Lazer hp 44" with a micro mulch kit. The machine and engine have both been trouble free in their first 300 hours. I do wish I had more horsepower because it will bog when mulching leaves and leave some blades uncut on thick or damp lawns. At it stands, I rate my mower with a 'B'. If I could get an anti blow out baffle for the 44" I'd rate it an '' A". If I had a 19 KAW on it it would be an 'A+'. Hope this helps.

4. jason r.