Keeping snow off blade

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by dfor, Jan 17, 2000.

1. dfor

dfor LawnSite Senior Member

Is there anything that can be done to keep snow from building up on the blade? Wax or silicone spray??

2. cwlo

cwlo LawnSite Member

I have no experience using wax, or silicone, but I'm sure the wax would help. How smooth is the moldboard (blade)? That's the question. If the paint is coming off, and its pitted, then sandblasting it, or using a grinder/wire wheel with new paint would be a good idea as you prepare for next season. The only other option I know would be to purchase a plastic liner that is placed over the moldboard, and then bolted in place. This seems like an elegant solution, as the plastic will never rust, and is pretty slick. I would be interested to hear from anyone that has used one of these. My main concern would be that it might chip, or hold salt laden moisture between it and the steel modboard. Most plow stores carry these, and they run about $60-$80.

3. DaveO

DaveO LawnSite Member

I have waxed the blade but can't prove it's better. You would think it has to be. A good coat of paint over a smooth surface is important. I wonder if you could use RAINX on the paint... It works great on glass, but probably will bother the paint. Anybody ever try it???<p>Dave

4. Lazer

Lazer LawnSite Bronze Member

The plastic liner is an excellent solution. We use these on all our parking lot trucks and almost no snow sticks, and plows always looks nice.

5. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

Why do you use them only on your parking lot trucks? How many years have you plowed with them?<p>Geoff

6. Lou

Lou LawnSite Member