kiddies on the lawn

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by charlies, Apr 11, 2004.

1. charlies

charlies LawnSite Senior Member
    from earth

last season, i saw several small companies in the summer mowing with 12 and 13 year olds. I am assuming it was their children. does anyone else here find that to be slightly unprofessional? as a homeowner, i would call another lco the moment i discovered it. as a business owner, i am a little perturbed by it. like guys mowing w/out shirts, w/out proper licenses, guys not paying taxes, etc, etc, i think it gives our industry a bad image.

how would you feel if they wheeled you into the room to have surgery and the doc and his boy were scrubbing up?

2. Eric 1

Eric 1 LawnSite Bronze Member

Fine as long as his son knew what he was doing or was being wached.

3. Rick Jones

Rick Jones LawnSite Senior Member
    from NY

While I agree with you that 12 and 13 year olds are a little young to be working for a commercial LCO, I have a hard time comparing a lawn care operator to a surgeon.

4. rmartin

rmartin LawnSite Member
    from mass

never had a job as a kid? isnt there enough for people to worry about than kids doing lawn work? I know as a kid I did it for a summer job and never had any problems with people questioning it. But again it all comes back to us scabs. Any well to do company that pays taxes would never do that...

5. charlies

charlies LawnSite Senior Member
    from earth

to me, there's no difference. he operates on people, i operate on lawns. btw, do you think he sharpens his own scalpels?

i think a more accurate statement is that a legitimate company is not allowed to do that.

6. Davis Lawn Mowing LLC.

Davis Lawn Mowing LLC. LawnSite Member