1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Knowledge and your Biz question.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rob7233, Nov 2, 2007.

1. rob7233

rob7233 LawnSite Senior Member

I've been curious as to how and/or where everyone has learned about Lawn Care/ Landscaping/ Hardscaping ? Did you work for someone?
    Get formal training? Self trained? Any other ways? Anyone care to share?

Does it matter to your business or to your customers? How directly do you think it relates to your success?
  2. landscaper22

landscaper22 LawnSite Senior Member

I am self taught. I knew I could not work for anyone else for long. Bureaucracy and red tape is not for me. I'm a simple straight forward person. I have a business degree, and knew I wanted to start some sort of business one day. I wouldn't say that lawn care is, or was, at the very top of my list to do. If you say you enjoy working outside when it is 100 degrees you are crazy! It also is not fun being blasted with rocks, debris, or the ocassional dog crap. But I don't mind working hard. I saw an opportunity and went with it. I started it out as a part-time job, and it went from there. I had very little knowledge about lawn care or landscaping. I did a lot or reading and surfing the web for info. I have since taken a few classes offered through the local extension office. After 5 years I can say that I have a fairly good knowlesge base now. Starting out, I felt like my drive to do good work along with being dependable has helped me more than anything. Customers are generally very forgiving as long as you strive to do your best and are dependable. Obviously the more you know the better off you will be and your customers will have the highest level of confidence in you. I feel that proper communication and being dependable will take your business furth