Kohler CH25S not runnin on one cylinder

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by treeguy27, Feb 25, 2008.

1. treeguy27

treeguy27 LawnSite Member

Newbie here looking for some help with this Kohler. It's a Kohler Ch25S spec# 68587.

It is only running on the front cylinder sporadically (starter side). The compression seems fine, fuel seems fine. I've already replaced the coil for this side. I am thinking it may be the Smart Spark module, but not for sure. None of the local shops have the Kohler tester for the Smart Spark. They claim it costs a fortune.

I looked on Kohler's website but could not find a service manual for this exact engine. I found one for a very similar engine though. I tried to test the Spark Advance module with the a timing light as the manual said. If I am doing it correctly (I think I am), both cylinders are firing at the same time. At least getting spark at the same time. I made a mark on the flywheel screen, then started the engine, found the mark using the timing light, made another mark on the shroud next to the first mark. Accelerated the engine, and the first mark moved slightly away from the second. Then I Moved the timing light to the other plug wire and looked for the first mark with the light. It was still lining up with the mark from the other cylinder. It moved away when accelerated as well, but was not 45% from the first mark as the manual said it should be. It appears both plugs are firing at the same time?