Kombi worth it for me?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by JMiller08, Apr 26, 2008.

1. JMiller08

JMiller08 LawnSite Senior Member

I talked to my stihl dealer for prices today. Power head alone 289. Im looking to get the weedeater att, blower att, and edger att. This is my first year just getting my feet wet. I have one account and a few more are on the way. I havent advertised at all and will be doing a little in the upcoming weeks. All together i think it was around 600 before taxes. Is it worth it for me and how does the kombi and these attachments perform? Thanks guys

2. DuallyVette

DuallyVette LawnSite Gold Member

I'd get a 26cc trimmer, a 26cc edger, and the biggest Back Pack Blower (8001 RM)
    The multi topol looks like a homeowners playtoy.

3. Marek13

Marek13 LawnSite Member

I've used one of those echo splits with multiple attachments. My 2 cents - after using it for half season the greased joints (end to the power head and the attachments) will accumulate so much dust -you will have hell of a time attaching anything to you power head -after all lots of exposed joints -lots of headaches-and for the price of an attachment you can pick up decent trimmer or edger (+-) save yourself time and money
    Again that’s just my experience.

4. Paulup

Paulup LawnSite Senior Member

I have the KM-130 with trimmer and blower and love it, really solid and the savings is great.

5. cgaengineer

cgaengineer LawnSite Fanatic

Cant go wrong with the KM, very good unit and its not a home owner model either. I have 2 power heads so I can still have a trimmer and an edger if I need both...kinda hard running both at same time though.

Speaking of home owner play toys...26 cc? I have seen model airplane engines bigger than that!!:rolleyes: I will hook my 36cc KM130 to any of your 26cc engines and twist it like a pretzel!!;)

Never had a problem with dust either...I dont even use the caps!

6. DuallyVette

DuallyVette LawnSite Gold Member