Kubota L48 TLB or JD 110?

Discussion in 'Tractors' started by bcx400, Sep 16, 2004.

1. bcx400

bcx400 LawnSite Member
    from PA

I am considering purchasing a tractor with a backhoe that will accept many other attachments. I have narrowed the field to The Kubota L48 and the John Deere 110. Both have skid-steer quick attach front plates and dedicated hydraulics for the backhoe. Does any one have any experience in using these models? I would appreciate hearing the pros and cons from any owners.

Thanks!

2. Ursushorribilus

Ursushorribilus LawnSite Member

I sat on a Kubota L48 today, and spent over an hour with the salesman who walked me through the design and operation (I have no tractor experience, and am looking for my first toy). Very nice machine! Was quoted a price of $39,500 with the loader and backhoe. Does that sound about right to you?

3. lamarbur

lamarbur LawnSite Member

I finally picked up an L48 that I ordered 6 weeks ago.. The only reason for the wait, we had a scheduled trip throughout Florida to complete, so the dealer hung onto the machine until we could both connect. Got the L 498, work lights, stabilzer pads, third valve, skid steer front end, 7.5ft Diamond power angle plow, 72" HD bucket, mechanical quick attach for hoe with 12 and 24 inch hoe buckets..

4. bcx400

bcx400 LawnSite Member
    from PA

I bought the Kubota L48 this week; it is a great machine. I got mine with the skid steer-style quick-connect loader bucket, backhoe, 72" brushhog, and pallet forks.
    After checking out the John Deere 110, I realized the Kubota beat the JD in all lifting specs as well as engine and hydraulic power (and they are both priced similarly).

hey lamarbur- do you know if the standard backhoe can be converted to mechanical quick attach? Mine has 2 pins that hold the backhoe bucket in place (like a standard backhoe). I would like to be able to quickly change buckets.

5. Ursushorribilus