Kubota ZG20

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by xprmntl1, Feb 11, 2004.

1. xprmntl1

xprmntl1 LawnSite Member

I am a newbie with a question, I realize the new Kubota gas ZTR's are new this year but I have a few questions. I have been looking at this mower and the Exmark Lazer 48 and the Cub Cadet 48 tank? They are all close in price but the kubota's blade tip speed is much slower (15800) compared to 18000 plus. The Kubota's deck is shaft driven but I believe the others are not. Is the slower speed due to the shaft drive and will this make cutting taller grass harder?

BTW, after reading many of the posts on this forum it seems like Exmark is the most popular, is this due to reliability?

Thanks in advance!

2. carlsmower

carlsmower LawnSite Member

go with a proven performer

3. xprmntl1

xprmntl1 LawnSite Member

And that would be?

4. spin2098

spin2098 LawnSite Member

I have a Kubota z turn with a 60in deck. I think it runs great and cuts well in any kind of grass. I mean you can only cut grass with any machine at a certain height before it looks like crap. But I do like my machine and have not had any problems so far.

5. xprmntl1

xprmntl1 LawnSite Member

Yeah but this particular mower is a gas 20 hp model, and the blade speed is what concerns me most. Isnt your ZTR a deisel?

6. dfd25

dfd25 LawnSite Member

xprmntl1
    i'm glad you asked that question. I have been wondering the exact same thing about the kubota. From a commercial stand point, I like scag the best. The tiger cub is a little cheaper also.

7. J Hisch

J Hisch LawnSite Senior Member

This unit is a good unit of course but it is not really for the hard core commercial mowers. It is meant to offer some light commercial and home owner use. But their is no doubt that Kubota doesnt make junk. The retial price is 6300.00

8. spin2098

spin2098 LawnSite Member

yeah we have a diesel.

9. xprmntl1

xprmntl1 LawnSite Member