Lady Calls For Estimate

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jhawk71, Apr 27, 2005.

1. jhawk71

jhawk71 LawnSite Member

Today I receive a call from a homeowner in my neighborhood asking for an estimate. I show up look around and then go up to the door, introduce myself and say hello. Then tell her $30 a week. She replies that's what the guy I currently have is charging. She paused as if I was going to lower my price. After I didn't come down she replied. Bye! I got this call from an ad I placed in my neighborhood newsletter. In the ad I said I was a high school student. I am guessing she read high school student and thought she could save a few bucks. What bothers me (15) is that I could have done a better job than who she currently has, the guy left stringers throughout the yard and did a poor job trimming and edging. Anybody else get calls like this.

Jhawk71

2. Toy2

Toy2 LawnSite Bronze Member

The high school screwed you, next time I would leave that out of your ad, if you give an estimate tell them the "boss" sent you, if they call its your phone ringing :D .....around here some college kids are doing the same, but some people want someone for the long team, not just a season........

3. Ptunia

Ptunia LawnSite Member

A word of friendly advice....DON"T ADVERTISE YOUR AGE!
    You probably do good work, but when people see "high-school" they think inexperienced, undependable and unreliable.

You are probably none of those things, but you could be losing the opportunity to prove yourself, by those too little words..."high-school".

Just a suggestion! :cool2:

4. Ptunia

Ptunia LawnSite Member

Todd...
    A little harsh aren't you. Did you have a bad day today? Be nice! :p

5. lawnranger44

lawnranger44 LawnSite Senior Member