Landscape Architecture

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by rookie03, Jan 25, 2004.

1. rookie03

rookie03 LawnSite Member
    from OK

Does anyone have a Bachelor Degree in Landscape Architecture? If not, what do you have your degree in for Landscaping? What's the best school around for a Bachelor Degree in Landscaping? Any information is appreciated. Thanks

2. WeatherMan

WeatherMan LawnSite Senior Member

I have a masters in Architecture with a minor in Landscape Architecture From Miami University in Oxford, Ohio

3. Team Gopher

Team Gopher LawnSite Platinum Member
    from -

Hi Rookie3,

Here is a quote from this post, maybe it will be helpful.

"If you want to have a landscape contracting business, an LA degree is not the best one to get. It is a specialized degree in land planning with landscape design being a small part of that. It is not designed to make a landscape contractor out of you.

I can not speak for the state or Oregon, but in most states the years of experience that you can apply toward sitting for the exam must be under full time direct supervision of a licensed landscape architect. In many states you need two years of that experience in addition to your degree to sit for the exam. The point is that you can not get that experience if you are owning your own landscape contracting business at the same time.

Being a registered landscape architect is not going to significantly put you ahead of your competition as a landscape contractor. I don't know why someone would want to invest all that time and money in school, in internships, and exams to be an LA if you really want to be a contractor.

Being an LA is a rewarding career and a very diverse field. There are some that are great landscape contractors as well. Many are great landscape designers while many suck.