Landscape Designs

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by drsogr, Aug 11, 2004.

1. drsogr

drsogr LawnSite Bronze Member

I am new to the business to say the least and I was curious how everyone shows their landscape designs to their customers. Do you draw them out by hand? Is there some kind of software? Do you show them pictures of similar jobs? Or do you just do the job and hope to heck they like it?

Thanks,

2. gvandora

gvandora LawnSite Member

I would say the method vary based on the scope of the job. Replacing three shrubs? Just tell them which, and maybe show a picture of the shrub. A cleanup? Show them pictures of previous work. Beyond that, drawings and photo rendering are helpful to illustrate what it WILL look like. Past pictures are still helpful though.

3. drsogr

Thanks for the response...anyone else?

4. kbenvironmental

kbenvironmental LawnSite Member

Gvandora hit the nail on the head for categorizing your bids. Try to focus on a niche in the market but be willing to bid on anything you are capable of.

I have two areas I focus on and the bid process differs greatly for both. First is what I would consider small/moderate new home installs for front and/or back yards shoehorned into 1/4 acre lots or smaller. Fist meeting I show them previous pics based on their scale. I ask lots of questions to determine what they need and want. Then I sketch out a conceptual drawing and make changes as we discuss everything involved including a rough estimate based on their budget and wish list. I return a second time with a firm bid, contract and computer drawing. They can purchase my services for just the site plan separately if they want to shop around, and receive a discount from the job price if they use me.
    For me, this type of job takes 1 to 4 guys 1 to 5 working days to complete. However, in the bid I give myself triple the estimated time because it is always better to come in ahead of schedule.