Landscaper Liability

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by carltoncl, Jul 29, 2007.

1. carltoncl

carltoncl LawnSite Member

Hi there,

I am not a landscaping professional but what I have to ask concerns the profession very much and I'd appreciate input.

We contracted to have 18,000 sq.ft. around our new house rockhounded, cleared, topsoiled, and then hydroseeded. The job cost was $4,600 + tax. Location is southeast Cleveland (Ohio). Job was completed in 2 days at end of May this year.

The landscaping outfit who completed this job stated that they would be dropping by regularly to check progress given that they are only about 10 miles away.

Everything was completed to our satisfaction initially and the hydroseeded lawn started growing. About 3 weeks in we noticed that there were two tones of grass and on closer inspection it was apparent that crabgrass had infested the hydroseeding.

Now it's late July and only the shaded areas of the grass are crabgrass free. Penetration of crabgrass ranges from 50 - 80% in some areas. The lush Kentucky bluegrass that we were expecting is not to be except in perhaps 500 sqft of what was planted.

There are also numerous bald patches but they don't bother me so much as re-seeding should take care of them. Again, the landscaping outfit promised to take care of this and they have not.

Despite repeated calls (three) and emails (two) from us to our landscaping company they do not return calls, they have not dropped by, and if they have a plan for this they sure haven't shared it with us. I should add that none of the emails or calls was inflammatory, I've got my own business and like to think that I conduct myself with some decorum and always leave room for the other side to take some desirable course of action.