Large Bed Edging Bid

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Likestomow, Aug 25, 2002.

1. Likestomow

Likestomow LawnSite Senior Member

I need to place a bid on doing approx. 1754 feet of bed edging on one property. If I were to secure the contract, I would consider purchasing a bed edger. These are all established beds, the owner just wants a formal look.

If anyone can give me some guidance, I’d sure appreciate it.
    (I’ve never done this sort of work before)

2. jamesday

jamesday LawnSite Member
    from MS

Neither have I, and this may sound stupid, but is a "bed edger" different from a regular edger?

Just curious.

3. Ferdelance

Ferdelance LawnSite Member

If you are doing that much bed edging, you might consider purchasing a bed edger or renting one. The bed edger I use is the Trenchmaster by Brown mfg. If you can get ahold of one of these edgers, you can get different edging rotors. If you are just cleaning up an existing edge, the best edge rotor to get is the re-defining rotor. This rotor will not kick as much dirt into the bed as the regular bedmaster rotor. Make sure you get the Trenchmaster that steers. Good luck:)

4. heygrassman

heygrassman LawnSite Senior Member

I did a job at the begining of the season that was 320 linear foot inside of 1/4 acre plot .. yes there were a ton of beds.. that took me about 2.5 hours to complete.. this is a little long but it was my first time with the Brown (which I also highly recommend) and that 2.5 included pulling out the grass that was mulched in, raking out the mounds of dirt and going over a few stubborn area (roots and hard clay) twice. I could prolly get that down to 2 hours now.

Caution.. be vary careful around sidewalks - start a foot out and hand edge to the walk. Also, make sure that the customer outlines any and all wiring, irrigation, and roof drains that may be under ground. That Brown does not really care what is under ground. What ever it is, it want it to have a pretty "Deep V" in it..