Largest Poly used?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by Dirty Water, Apr 27, 2007.

1. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

I was a primarily PVC installer, but I did use Poly in some situtations. The largest poly I ever used was 2" for a suction line for a pump (Fed it out 15' into a lake and staked it so it was about 6' under water.

Anyways, aside from getting prohibitivly expensive, Poly that size is a real bear to handle compared to PVC.

Does anyone use big poly? 2" and above?

2. CAPT Stream Rotar

CAPT Stream Rotar LawnSite Fanatic

myself i never used over 2inch....

but im a pup so that statment will hopefully change...
    on a sidenote i was tossing some rolls around and the 2 inch came untapped..so i kicked it down to the ground and WAAAAAAAMMMMMMMM!
    i took a shot to the Jaw.....its these lessons that i learn the quickest...pain=dont do it again

3. PurpHaze

PurpHaze LawnSite Fanatic

We have some HDPE main line in the ground that is 4" diameter.

4. bicmudpuppy

bicmudpuppy LawnSite Silver Member

Does a water reel count? We had two large water reels at a golf course in a time far far away that had 4" poly. I never understood why such large pipe. I see reels now with much smaller pipe/hose that do about the same thing. Pop called them "circuses", complained that he only had two rings instead of 3. We used these to water large rough areas that were not irrigated.
    I've worked on some 4" poly suction lines as well. I've learned not to like poly suction lines. The barb connections are the first place to look when priming problems show up.

5. PurpHaze