Lawn App Program Help, Indiana

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by GravelyGuy, Jan 24, 2007.

1. GravelyGuy

GravelyGuy LawnSite Silver Member
    from Indiana

I go take my core and Turf 3B test on Feb. 13 and 20. Other than what the books are teaching me, I am a total newbie.

I will start advertising this spring so I need to start planning now. I already sent letters to my current customers and they want estimates. I should be able to figure out pricing, but any suggestions are welcome.

The thing I really need help with is setting up the program. I know that certain apps will be different depending on the issue, but does anyone have and example of how there program works that I can see?

Also, do you guys have a high end and low end program for people that are not as picky? Say a Gold and Silver package?

Any, and I mean any advice welcome, I am not trying to be vague, but I am very new. I will be starting out with granular apps since it will be cheaper to get me started. I obvioulsy don't have a spray rig.

Anything, what chemicals, time of year, equipment, whatever you guys think I need to know. Thanks a lot. :)

2. GravelyGuy

from Indiana

I forgot to mention, my current setup is a Scotts Speedgreen and a Roundup sprayer :laugh:

3. J Hisch

J Hisch LawnSite Senior Member

too many varibles to list a program, but good luck with it, usually it's best to work for someone or at least understand turf grass care and then a program isnt a problem. Ask a fert rep what you should use.

I spray most of my rounds with N and weed control... Basically what I am telling you is there is no simple plan to follow. If you want the basics then here it is

1. .25N with prodiamine at .75-1.0 AI
    2. .50N with broadleaf
    3. .25N Uflexx with broadleaf
    4. .25N with broadleaf, grub control
    5. .75N with broadleaf
    6. 1.0N granular

4. ATVracer

ATVracer LawnSite Senior Member
    from Indiana