1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Lawn Cutting in the Blood?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Smartgene, May 18, 2002.

1. Smartgene

Smartgene LawnSite Member

Although I'm new to the lawn business, I've always enjoyed cutting grass. I worked for a company a few years ago and enjoyed it. A lot of folks I know just detest cutting. While I admit it is not easy work (particularly when it is really hot and humid), I seem addicted to it. Do you guys think some people are (pardon the pun) cut out for it, and some folks are not?
  2. Got Grass?

Got Grass? LawnSite Senior Member

Ya either love it or hate it...
    addicted? I dunno bout that....

But I am addicted to my life & working for myself....

Always up for confusion & change....

It's hell...

I started out last year.

Summer = severe dought = no growing.

Winter = 7ft snow in a week then almost nothing = 6hrs sleep in a week in my truck, then bored outta my mind.

Spring = rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, 2-3x the normal ammount.... = To wet to work, to high to cut.

This summer: Who knows w/ my luck
  3. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

If we all could return to the feelings we had when we first got started!:rolleyes:

Keep that posotive attitude, your gonna need it.
  4. TGCummings

TGCummings LawnSite Senior Member

I know exactly what you mean, SmartGene. I love the work, it's just the rest of it that gets a little frustrating at times. However, the better my systems become as I pound them into near perfection, the more enjoyable each day is.

Remember, the key to success and happiness is in the systems you create, enact, break down, rework, employ, and perfect... :D
  5. Mowingman

Mowingman LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Texas