Lawn going lime green

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by adawg88, Apr 13, 2006.

1. adawg88

adawg88 LawnSite Member
    from MI

Hello -

First off, let me apologize, I am not a pro, but I read these forums religiously. There is a ton of great information here for pros and non-pros alike.

I am hoping you may be able to give me a little advice. I have always been a country boy, never really caring about my grass (when you have acres, it is too much to worry about). Now I am in a country sub with just a few acres and a sprinkler system. People here take their lawns very serious, so out of respect, I am trying to also. I just moved in last fall, so all I have done so far is winterize last fall. I noticed then that the grass was not as deep green as everyone else's. Now here (in Michigan) the weather is warming up and everyone's grass is coming in nice and deep green again and mine is a lovely shade of bright lime green. Is there a special fertilizer composition I should look for to green up my lawn?

I have a decent amount of thatch build up, so in the next few weeks, I plan to core aerate, over-seed and fertilize.

Any advice you can give me is immensely appreciated.

Thanks again for your help and this great site.

2. Grassmechanic

Grassmechanic LawnSite Silver Member

First off, get a soil test so you know what you're dealing with. Then, head over to your county Cooperative Extension agency (They'll send your sample in to MSU for testing). While you're there, pick up some bulletins on lawn care. If you have anymore questions after that, ask away!:waving:

3. adawg88

adawg88 LawnSite Member
    from MI

Will waiting three weeks for the results of the soil test hurt my lawn? I mean, will I miss the spring fertilizer cycle?

Also, would you wait for the results of the soil test before aerating? Does aerating and fert/seeding all have to take place the same day?

4. Grassmechanic

Grassmechanic LawnSite Silver Member