Lawn Grips

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by WJW Lawn, May 4, 2007.

1. WJW Lawn

WJW Lawn LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey...does anybody own a pair of Lawn Grips?? Are they any good?

2. FiveOJoe

FiveOJoe LawnSite Member
    from NJ

I just bought a pair and tried them yesterday for the first time.

I'm not thrilled with them. I bought the lace up semi-hi tops.

1. The shoe part (leather) is not as supportive as I like, kinda more like a sneaker than a boot. I really had to lace them tight to get them to feel snug.
    2. Made in China.
    3. Pricey for what you get. About $100.

They replaced a pair of Redwings ($150) which I wore for 7 years.

3. WJW Lawn

WJW Lawn LawnSite Bronze Member

Liked the Redwings better? Thanks for the opinion!!

4. fga

fga LawnSite Silver Member

I've been wearing them for about 2 months now.

They are perfect for lawncare, i really like them.

I ordered the hook and loop closure ones, but they sent me the lace-up ones by accident. i wound up just keeping them, didn't want to deal with the headaches, etc.

some good features, from a 2month opinion.
    the material inside, is really comfortable. feels similar to water shoes, if that makes sense.
    they are light. If your looking for a clunky boot, these aren't for you. I do switch to my timberalnds when i know i'm doing some hard shoveling, stuff like that. Not that the lawngrips couldn't handle it, just don't want to beat them up so much if i don't have to.
    the design of the tread. Laugh if you will, its got wider grooves. step in something...:rolleyes: , and it easily washes clean with hose, or puddle.

with all my boots... the ankle down gets beat up, while the top that is protected by my pants stays new looking. The lawngrips have a rubber front wrap around, which is durable and easy to wipe clean. so the parts that are seeing the most action stay newer looking.