1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Lawn Mower Selection

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jslawncare, Jan 14, 2003.

1. jslawncare

jslawncare LawnSite Member

Well, from my post in the business Section, I definately need to upgrade. I have been using a Honda Harmony 21" for the last three years and need to go bigger, most likely a 36" since I will be doing lots of in town lots. I was looking at the deere one with 13 hp, but I don't know, you guys say they are a pos. The deere one is $2500. Anyone know of any new 36" ones I can buy that are around the same price range and do a kickass job while still going fast?:D
  2. roscioli

roscioli LawnSite Senior Member

My 36" Exmark treated me well for my first 2 years... I barely use it anymore, most of my lawns now are done with my Z and trimming, sometimes the 21". It was belt drive, bought it used (about 2 hours on it) for $2000 as part of a package deal.. but new it was only $2300 + bagger. Now, with ECS controls they are like 2500-2600 after bargaining I believe... but with pistol grips they are 200 cheaper I THINK. No problems what so ever with this machine in 2 years of beating.
  3. jslawncare

I was thinking Scag too, but a lot of people seem to praise Exmark and the quality their machines are...Scag seems a bit $$$ though
  4. Rhett

Rhett LawnSite Bronze Member

36 metro with ecs is right around 2300 in my neck of the woods. I have perdominantly smaller residentials and at the biginning of the year was pushing them with a 21 in mower. Switched to the exmark and mowing time was cut in a third. Give one a try.

Good Luck
  5. lawncare3

lawncare3 LawnSite Bronze Member

I would say try to find a used with 200 hrs or less then maybe even you can get a hydro for the same price. Good Luck
  6. TaylorLawn

TaylorLawn LawnSite Member