1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

lawn mowing business or junk hauling business?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rosarioslawncutters, May 28, 2010.

1. rosarioslawncutters

rosarioslawncutters LawnSite Member

hi...i have been in the lawn care business for little over 3 years....i was thinking of not doing mowing and doing junk hauling service...is this a good choice....

i dont really have that many mowing accounts, all i make is $600 to $750 weekly...working 6 days a week and towing a trailer all day long

i do junk hauling jobs here and there so i have some experience (been doing it for about 1 year)

thing is that with 2 junk hauling jobs that i do a week will make almost the same amount of cash as if i was mowing but with a hole lot less time....

i usually charge $350 a trailer load and it usually takes me about 2.5 hours of work ( counting loading the junk in the trailer then dumping it at the land fill)
    when only in 2.5 hours all i can mow is maybe 3 properies at $30 each (counting drive time) total cash $90 making 3 different stops

so far i do 1 junk removal job per week without advertizing too hard...

i was thinking of eliminating the mowing to replace with the junk hauling but keep everything else like fall/spring clean ups, snow plowing

what do you guys think?
  2. TPS

TPS LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

The obvious choice, if you can get enough work, is hauling. My question is, do you need a DEP# to haul? In NJ you need a DEP# and it takes a while to get one here. Your supposed to have a DEP 401 Exempt # to haul grass clippings and yard waste also. Seems like fraily easy work and good money. Maybe cut mowing down to 3 days a week and haul the other 2 until you get enough work to haul 5 days a week.
  3. rickyg

rickyg LawnSite Member