lawn mowing prices

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by danby405, Jun 14, 2001.

1. danby405

danby405 LawnSite Member

I'm new to the mowing industry and have some pricing QUESTIONS?

1 how are most of you pricing by your time spent on the lawn or buy the sq footage

what do you charge per hour
    what do you charge per 1000 sq feet

I've only done lawn treating and I'm sick of only getting paid 5 or 6 times a year I wanna get in on this 26 pays per yer

2. danby405

danby405 LawnSite Member

It's me again asking for everyone's help on this one?
    the only thing i realy have to add is another question about insurance does anyone know of any good company to go through.
    Also how important is insurance when your getting started

I'm staying up waiting for replys

3. TJLC

TJLC LawnSite Bronze Member

Have you tried the search function at the top of the page?. This is a good place to start. If you can't find what you are looking for there, then come back and ask. I'm sure people here, will help.

4. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

Your going to get a varied response on this question. I try to charge by the amount of time I will be there not by sq. footage. When giving estimates you should factor in all the objects your going to have to trim around, leaves, type of grass, type of lot(wooded on each side) etc.

Insurance is important, you never know when something might happen.

26 times a year? There are 52 weeks in a year in Alabama. Set up your accounts so you get paid 12 months a year, you still need to eat in the winter unless you hibernate.

How much to charge is entirely up to you. Base it on what you need to make a profit. You should also have some idea of what your area will bring in terms of price. If you go too low your going to wind up being called a lowballer by somebody on here! If you are too high it won't take long to figure out when the people your giving estimates too say "your too high, my last guy did it for $10.00!"