Lawn Renovation

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by climber, Mar 18, 2006.

1. climber

climber LawnSite Member

I am an Arborist by profession, but my buddy's new house has some turf issues. The grass is patchy! I figured that we could overseed his lawn with a slit seeder. My questions are: Does the lawn need to be rolled after overseeding? What is a good starter fert. or will it burn the new grass? When is a good time to overseed (maybe now late winter)?

Thanks in Advance,

Any tree questions are welcome in repayment for your wealth of knowledge.

4.JPG

2. olderthandirt

olderthandirt LawnSite Platinum Member
    from here

wait till around May 1st. slice seed in 2 oposite direction ++++ Use lesco stater fert or any good low nitrogen starter fert and keep it watered lightly till its established. Don't ever roll a lawn

3. Fertboy

Fertboy LawnSite Member

Climber,

From the picture the lawn appears to be fairly established . You have a few options. If you seed this spring ,you will not be able to apply any crabgrass preventitive, or weed control to the lawn until the new seed matures. Also it appears to be in full sun, unless you seed early,and your buddy is reliable on watering, the new grass may suffer when it heats up. In my opinion I would try to keep the crabgrass and weeds under control,and seed early in the fall when you have better conditions. For seed starter in spring use a lower nitro fert,with a higher phos #. For fall seed fert you can go a little higher nitro. I have a lot of customers that request seeding in the spring, I tell them don't expect the results you would get , as if it was seeded in the fall. You can seed anytime ,but here on the east coast Fall is optimal. Most new lawns are already compacted from all the construction, rolling would not help much.

Good Luck!
    Ed

4. sheshovel

sheshovel LawnSite Fanatic