Lawn Renovation

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by AJ Lawnscapes, May 29, 2007.

1. AJ Lawnscapes

AJ Lawnscapes LawnSite Senior Member

Hey guys and gals! Hope you're all having fun.

I'm just getting started in all this on my own, but have worked for someone before.

Anyway, I have a customer that has "Orchard Grass" growing in their otherwise Dead Lawn. Brown spots etc. Straw patches, dead patchs, nothing patches.

There was no topsoil used, that I can tell. If there was, it was low grade from what the builder dug out for the basement or haul from up the street at the other locations.

The customer wants it fixed. They are planning on sueing the previous landscaping company/developer for not fixing the problem.

I'm thinking backhoe 3"-4" out, put fresh quality topsoil down, and spreading with Kentucky Blue or using that BlueYellow ( roll mat.

With rental of equipment, labor, soil removal/delivery, new hoses and sprinklers, My rough estimate is $5000. This iswith 2 guys working 8 hours a day for a week.

I did get a mulching job out of it so far :)

What do you guys think? Or, better yet, what do you suggest I do?

2. Smallaxe

Smallaxe LawnSite Fanatic

Looks like a water issue. Does it have irrigation? Note the grass around the down spout. If that is a newly seeded lawn it could use overseeding and lots more water, because of the slope.
    I would not invest 5G in a fellow who wants to sue landscapers. The 'orchard grass' looks like oats from the straw to me. So that is no problem.
  3. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

We would not consider doing that renovation until the fall. It's basically June and you are going to be getting into your hottest months of the year, and with no trees around, that place is going to be baking like a desert. so that's my suggestion, wait till fall to do any reno work.
  4. AJ Lawnscapes

Thanks, that might be the best bet.