1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Lawn-service related health problems

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Tom-N-Texas, Sep 26, 2004.

1. Tom-N-Texas

Tom-N-Texas LawnSite Senior Member

This post is just a small warning to all about possible long-term effects of the lawn service.

I've been doing this business for about 17 years. I was 19 when I started. I'm now 36. For years I thrived on being a work-a-holic. As a result of my labors I have a nice new big house...a great family...all the toys I could ever want and more. Life has always been good. I always make over $100,000 per year. But I'm starting to wonder now ---- at what price????

I've always had a crew work with me but I've always insisted on being on the job working with them. Not only does this insure the job is done right, but also it gets done faster. My crew and I average 35-45 lawns cut per day. 5 days per week. And usually a full day saturday is spent on shrubs.

My problem is after many many years of doing basically hard labor my body is seeminly starting to crumble. This is very hard to deal with since I've always been very healthy and fit.

First of all I've started having chronic headaches. This at first may seem unrelated.....but after much research I've determined that it may be due to my many years of using the weedeater and edger. As you know when you use these machines you are always looking downward towards the ground. This puts much strain on your neck and shoulder muscles resulting in small microscopic tears. I've read that many people who "look down" for a living such as welders or draftsman often develop chonic headaches.