lawncare set up? truck, equipment?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by fga, May 26, 2004.

1. fga

fga LawnSite Silver Member

I've been experimenting for 6 years now trying to find the perfect lawncare set up, regarding trucks and equipment. All the while trying to keep overhead down. I've had vans, pick ups (small and full size), box truck, now a dumptruck. I've never had a trailer yet due to space limitations, but so far this year with the dump is the most smooth. I'm able to leave my equipment in the back, and have plenty of room in all the tool boxes, and I love the hanging hand tool racks I made on the side of the dump body.
    But I have a 32" kees WB, i've never used yet, going in the shop finally, and I'm looking to purchase some other bigger equipment, 36" - 48" wb, that won't fit ideally in the back of the dump body. I was debating a dump trailer instead, with a fairly strong, dependable, pick up, that would double as a personal ride.
    I think that would cover almost everything that a landscaper might need.
    Anyone else using thier personal pick up with a lettered dump trailer?

2. MudslinginFX4

MudslinginFX4 LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm using my personal pickup for one of my crews, and then an older truck for the other one. Whenever I can afford it I am going to get away from using my personal vehicle simply because it is becoming nasty (grey leather turning to brown because of sweat, scratches all over it becuase of rocks, grass, etc being thrown). I currently don't have a dump trailer also becuase of expense but have looked at them. Honestly I think I would rather have the dump truck though. I used to have a really old smaller dump truck earlier last year that got totaled becuase of some idiot and really miss it. Why can't you pull a trailer behind the dump truck?

3. Creative Lawn Care

Creative Lawn Care LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC