lawsuits

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by yardguy.net, Apr 8, 2003.

1. yardguy.net

yardguy.net LawnSite Member

Anyone ever have a mower ruined by a hidden rock or stump or root. I had to throw a couple of mowers away because of once a stump hidden by leaves and another time a rock hidden by high grass. I think the home owners should take responsibility for the damage since they are liable for the stuff on the property. It's a giant waste throwing mowers in the trash.

2. fblandscape

fblandscape Banned

What kind of mowers are you throwing out? I would say you are just as liable as the homeowner is for the damages to your machine. It will say in ANY operator's manual to inspect your work area before you do anything. Did you? Were you looking in front of yourself? I really don't think you have much of a case... but then again I am not a lawyer. However I do know that if you go around suing clients because they didn't tell you about rocks, or pipes in the lawn, you won't have very many clients for too long.

3. bastalker

bastalker LawnSite Senior Member

WOW!!! I have hit rocks, and stumps, but usually i just sharpen the blades......

What kind of mower you got? I would recomend not buying anymore of them....seriously!!

Like fb said, I always inspect a property before I cut it, and uncover all the hidden treasures that can be hit. I really dont think you have a leg to stand on with this!:(

4. Green Pastures

Green Pastures LawnSite Silver Member

YOU are responsible to secure the area before YOU mow.

Everybody want's to sue somebody. :rolleyes: Not a good 5th post Yardguy.