LAzer compared to Toro Z Master

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by gunpowder, Jan 17, 2003.

1. gunpowder

gunpowder LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

I am a manager for a not-for-profit park that trades mowers every year. I have had a 1999 Lazer 25hp52", a 2000 Lazer25hp 60", 2001 Lazer 27HPLQ 60", and a 2002 Lazer 27HPLQ60". I am the only employee so I ran the above machines.

I have sold my 2002 mower and was all ready to go with EXMARK again but one of my directors recieved a quote from a local Toro dealer for a Zmaster 280 configured the same (27HPLQ 62") for a little less money. I have checked the machine out but am still not convinced one way or the other.

Never had much problems with the Exmark but the best Exmark quote is with a dealer over an hour away while the Toro dealer is 10 minutes!

I would like to talk to someone who is familiar with the two machines and especially with the Toro SFS deck. The major differances to be concerned with I see is the deck (deepness and guage of metal differs. Toro dealer claims more welding), the seat (deluxe standard on the Toro in the Z280), the frame (Guage thickness), Z stand on the Toro, and blades (Atomic/Gator vs. excalabers). The Toro Warrenty is also transferable to the next owner.

Resale value is extremely important to me as I trade every year and considering the factory not-for-profit discount have sold every machine for the price of the replacement! I usually have very low hours on the machines at the end of the season.

I like to stretch my mowing to every other week so grass may be tall and I have also been known to mow in the rain (wet grass).
    Yes, I know Toro bought Exmark.

2. Mowingman

Mowingman LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Texas