Lazer HP vs Hustler Mini Z

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Mr Ricochet, May 12, 2006.

1. Mr Ricochet

Mr Ricochet LawnSite Member

I am trying to decide between the HP and the Mini Z. I have only owned Exmark WB and , am very happy with Exmark and my dealer. I must have a deck smaller than 48 inches due to many residential accounts. The thing about the Lazer HP that is really concerning me is that the 46 inch deck only comes with a 19 hp Kawi. Somehow I don't think this will be enough power. I looked at the 44 inch Mini Z and can get a 23 hp kawi on it which, would be plenty of power....................After doing some reading I've created some questions. The Mini Z only has a deck depth of 4 inches compared to the Triton deck that is 6 inches which, is quite a difference. I have also read that some guys are having some issues with the Tritons cut............I am new to riders and am solo so I have no one to help me determine what is the most important features when choosing a rider. Correct me if I'm wrong but horsepower and deck depth seem most important.......... Has anyone had any experience with one or both of these mowers and, can help me choose between them? What features are most important when choosing a rider? Is the 46 inch Lazer under powered? Is a 4 inch deck too shallow?.............Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. LandscapeMasterpieceGA

LandscapeMasterpieceGA LawnSite Member

all about the hustler...search some threads

3. lazer9284

lazer9284 LawnSite Member
    from florida

its not exactly as easy as horsepower and deck depth...