Lazer in Pond

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by SIG, May 21, 2002.

1. SIG

SIG LawnSite Member

Well for the second time since I have been doing this kind of work, since 1985, another of my mowers was driven into a pond. My 1999 25 hp 60" Lazer. I just can't believe somebody would take so much risk of injury to save a few minutes of going to get the walkbehind off the trailer. I will find out today how much this is going to cost me. I guess this is the difference between owners and employees, I would never put my $7000.00 at that much risk or my life. Very frustrating, it's not like we were'nt behind already! I am really P*****off about this. Hope you all have a better week than me. Peace!

2. stslawncare

stslawncare LawnSite Bronze Member
    from DE

sorry to hear about your luck, saftery first all the time, just like our rule in the fire service, saftery of yourself, your crew, equipment, then the customer/patient.

3. SIG

SIG LawnSite Member

That's what is even worse, my helper is a paid firefighter!!! I was a volunteer for many years and you are right- you can't help somebody else if you are dead or hurt. He did feel really, really bad about what happened.

4. fastlane

fastlane LawnSite Senior Member

Sorry aboutyour lazer. Hopefully you can get away with only changing fluids. Scotties' fire company would have saved your lazer and let employee drown.(maybe not a bad idea)

5. lawn and stump

lawn and stump LawnSite Member

I have been unexpectlantly suprised by my laser-I ended up in the street- lucky no cars were coming- once they start sliding look out- my sentar is much safer and slides a whole lot less

6. Scraper

Scraper LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey...I am currently considering buying a Sentar...quality of cut nice? No lawns over 2 acres here and I'm looking at the 60". How is it on hills generally? How steep can it climb or traverse before you start to worry?

7. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member