Lazer vs. Super Sufer

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Schlepie, Oct 20, 2001.

1. Schlepie

Schlepie LawnSite Member

Looking forward to purchasing my first ztr at the beginning of next season. Have a 36 metro now. I'm also a solo operator and the ztr should help. I'm looking at a 44" lazer w/ 19koh for ($5799) vs the Surfer 48" ( $4900). Both with floating decks that change heights on the fly. One stands, the other sits. I'm leaning towards the Lazer but could use some pros and cons on both from those that have used or are using them both. I will mainly be using these on residential and I dont want to pass on the larger jobs like I have this year. Thanks

2. little green guy

little green guy LawnSite Senior Member

I had the same debate with my self in the beging of the year, I was between the 52" write stander and a 60" lazer, I went with the lazer. The reason I went with the lazer was:
    1) more attachmants (ultra-vac, ect...)
    2) hieght ajustment
    3) liquid cooled option
    4) faster ground speed, better for bigger jobs

I realy do like the standers though, the other company I worked with had a 52" sufer and i loved that machine, there so muenuverable, cuts great, and you can do almost any hill. I think I may buy a stander next year. I think the best setup is a stander, a ZTR and a walkbehind. The standers are cheap too. I don't think I'd get a super sufer though, I like the Wright Standers better, I wish they still made the old suffer though, they where the best.

3. Lawnworks

Lawnworks LawnSite Fanatic
    from usa

If I were you I would get a Lazer b/c they are more efficient and make your job enjoyable. I do like those Surfers though, they look pretty cool. If you are not maowing postage stamps I wuld definately get the Lazer. I think Exmarks and Choppers are the best mowers out there. But really even on small lawns w/ no gates I think a bigger mower will do fine. Good luck!

4. TLS

TLS LawnSite Fanatic

Schlepie,