1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

lazer z blades

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by tower43, Mar 21, 2006.

1. tower43

tower43 LawnSite Member
    from md

I have searched the forums for an answer to this, but still cannot find the answer I need, so here goes.

I have a lazer z with a 60" deck that I got new last year (last year was also my first year in business, so I am still new to commercial mowers)

I started with the blades that came on it, and wasnt really satisfied with the cut... early in the season it left a fair amount of grass behind - like the blades didnt lift the grass enough to be cut, forcing me to go back over it again, not always getting it on the second pass. Was a real problem with dandelions esp.

I got some blades from the dealer that looked like the gator blades (mulching I think - the dealer is fairly new and isnt really well versed on exmarks blades) these didnt help to solve the problem either.

My question is this - what exmark blades will help to solve this problem? Looking at what they have to offer, I am lost - I just cant tell which blade is for what purpose. My dealer isnt any help either. (last year exmark added a spindle to reduce blade damage, and it requires a hole of 7/8" on the blade - which limits blade choices to exmark's)

I also had a problem with grass clumping, causing me to have to go back over it again as well.. will different blades help with this? I am going to check that the deck is level, and the rake is ok and tire pressures, but will different blades help as well?
  2. eXmark

eXmark Manufacturer / Sponsor

Hello tower43,