leaf loader/non dump

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by jamaica plain, Jul 5, 2009.

1. jamaica plain

jamaica plain LawnSite Member

Hi,
    I've been searching for the last couple of day, and spending a few hours looking through the search option on the site for some information and have not been able to find it.
    I have been doing maintenance for 4 years now. In the fall, my schedule is completely backed up and barely finished my work last year. I would like to buy a leaf loader this year to use with my f-350, which is NOT a dump truck.
    The plan that I would like to follow is; buy a top of the line leaf loader (willing to spend to get performance), and figure out a way to dump the leaves from the back of my pick up. (I plan to to buy a dump truck in a year or two)
    I don't want to buy and trailer for multiple reasons.
    I would like to know how to unload an 8 yard box that will sit in my bed? Are there ways of making some sort of box that will sit in the back of my truck and dump?
    I have used tarps in years past, but don't expect to be able to with the use of a leaf loader this year.

2. 2low4NH

2low4NH LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NH

i guess you can put a pallet against the back wall hook a chain to it and pull it out when your read to unload. i wouldnt want to do this. i have a decent leaf loader and it packs the leaves in. i would want to rake them out either theres alot of leaves in 6 yards plus. even with a half full truck which is most residental yards around here the bottom half packs right down when you open the gate you dont lose a single leaf

3. jamaica plain

Thanks for the note. I hadn't thought of the pallet idea. Something to think about.
    Do you unload your leaves by rake after they have been loaded by a leaf loader? How long would it take a couple of guys to unload a fully loaded and packed load?