Leaf mulching answers!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by naturescape, Nov 7, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. naturescape

naturescape LawnSite Bronze Member

I have a lot of experience mulching leaves with different mowers. I have mulched leaves EXCLUSIVELY since 1987, sometimes in areas with VERY heavy leaf accumulation.

Mulching leaves isn't going to upset the balance of the soil. The leaves ARE the soil, in a different form. Just don't bring the mulch from one location to a completely different location, then I could imagine a soil Ph balance problem.

I have found no one mower/setup can do everything effectively. A mulch kit works fine on dry leaves, but not when they are fairly wet.

The best way to mulch in ANY conditions is to first use a mower with a mulching plate (sometimes a couple passes), then go over the area without a mulching plate to uniformly spread the mulch. This means carrying 2 mowers, one set up to mulch, the other to discharge.

The only way around this is to use something like the Director from York, then you can easily switch back and forth from mulching to discharge. Unfortunately, this isn't available for many mowers (including my 48" Turf Tracer!). So, I want to fabricate a hinged mulch plate for my mower, something I'll have done before Spring.

2. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

The quick change is one thing I must say I like about the ol' lawn tractor. It has a twin blade 42" deck that is designed where it doesn't need extra baffles or individual blade chambers to do a great job mulching. It only takes a few seconds to stop, pull the discarge block off plate and stick on the discharge deflector. Wham bam, your side discharging or mulching.

3. So now we're at carring 2 mowers and making 5-6 passes....

Man yall keep making me want to try mulching even more!!!!

Screw all that 1-----Pass with a vac.

4. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

LGF,