Leaky carb on NEW RedMax CHT2200

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Envy Lawn Service, Nov 8, 2006.

1. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

So I'm getting fuel leaking out of this carb on these hedge clippers.

I can't have that!

These are new. One tank through this set. Then a few minutes on another tank.
    So what gives here?

Something the dealer didn't do to this set?
    Something wrong with the carb?
    Something wrong with the fuel cap?
    (I'm new to RedMax, they vent through the cap right?)

Trying to get an idea of what this might be so I know if I need to return them to the dealer or if it's something I can take care of easy.

Also, for those of you that have these in particular... what are your proven methods of caring for their blades and gearbox, and so forth?
  2. Envy Lawn Service

Hello? Anybody there?
  3. causalitist

causalitist LawnSite Senior Member

um... well it would help if you knew where it was leaking from... i have had gas leak from carb overflows when there is a tiny bit of debri in a jet not allowing the needle to go down all the way on my mower... if revving it up doesnt dislodge it, i just pull apart the carb and spray in every hole i can find.. always works.. other than that, all i can think of is a bad gasket, but that is way less common.
  4. Turfdude

Turfdude LawnSite Bronze Member

i suggest lubing the fittings at least every 20 hrs. You can spray the blades w/ wd-40 a few times daily if necessary. I haven't experienced any fueld leaking problems w/ my pairs of redmax (only w/ tanaka vented caps both pairs). As far as quality unit, redmax is better than tanaka which is better than echo (when comparing similar models). good luck w/ them, I think you'll enjoy their power, even though they weigh a tad more than the competitors models.
  5. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic