leaves in flower beds

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mr. k, Nov 20, 2003.

1. mr. k

mr. k LawnSite Member

hey guys, i'm relatively new to all of this and i was wondering what is the best method for getting leaves out from the flower beds (especially the beds tucked into the corners of the house). any advice would be appreciated. thanks

2. olderthandirt

olderthandirt LawnSite Platinum Member
    from here

3. AL Inc

AL Inc LawnSite Bronze Member

We use rakes to get the heavy debris, then go through with the backpack blowers and get everything out onto the lawn, then use the Little Wonders to push leaves to the street or into the woods, depending on the account.

4. CamLand

CamLand LawnSite Bronze Member

blowers and if caught up in bushes use hands to remove..

5. Shuter

Shuter LawnSite Bronze Member

Use a backpack blower.

6. mr. k

mr. k LawnSite Member

thanks guys, but i have been using my backpack blower and when the flower bed is in a corner of the housethe leaves seem to get stuck in the corner, and yes i can use full throttle, but that seems to blow mulch, dirt, etc all over the place. i was just wondering if there was an easier way than picking them up, then blowing the rest out of the bed.

7. packerbacker

packerbacker LawnSite Bronze Member

buy a little echo leaf sucker, they are about 150 bucks and they convert to a normal hand blower in the mowing season

8. locutus

locutus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NC

I used to have kind of the same problem. I just do my best to finesse them out of the corners with my blower. I've found that with my 7001, I can corral them into one area in the flowerbed and blast them through a hole between shrubs no problem.

9. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic