1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Lecture: Re: Being PAID!

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by DVS Hardscaper, Jan 28, 2008.

1. DVS Hardscaper

DVS Hardscaper LawnSite Fanatic

Ok guys. I'm going to write about something that I take VERY SERIOUSLY.

And that is: GETTING MY MONEY.

It seems as if a few here have had / or are having problems getting paid.

Let me start with telling you a little about myself. I am a self taught businessman. I started this headache at a very young age. And I learned as I went. You name it, I've been through it, from pretty to ugly. Over the years I have learned alot about law.

There is one thing that I virtually have never had a problem with - and that is getting paid. And I like to think that it's because of my proactive stance.

Over the years I have talked with MANY contractors. And many contractors will collect the down payment, maybe get a 2nd payment along the way, and then bill for the final payment.

I don't do that. I want my money. Not because I'm greedy. Not because I'm broke! But because I don't want to give anyone the opportunity to screw me.

Folks, there are professional con-artists out there. They live in tents and they live in million dollar mansions. Also, most of them are the nicest, most down to earth people you can ever meet. But! In most states you can check people's criminal backgrounds for free. It's public information. It can be done at the courthouse.