lesco hydro 48

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by eads, Mar 13, 2001.

1. eads

eads LawnSite Member

just got a new lesco 17 horse hydro it has a fixed deck,i have never used a 48 walk behind before any opinion on the fixed deck and about lesco products.I paid 3299.00 new
  2. Michael Fronczak

Michael Fronczak LawnSite Member

I have same mower. Great machine, hydro took us some getting used to, different from belt drives. Cuts great in almost all conditions.
  3. Wayne Offiler

Wayne Offiler LawnSite Member

I recently demoed Lesco 36 and 48 hydros. I compared to other major brands (Ferris, Exmark, Toro, entry level machines). I find the Lesco to be a good, solid, competitive entry. They have some sharp pricing now, too.
    Took me a while to get over their connection with MTD. But, as MTD Pro is a separate division (and manufacturing facility) and seems to kow how to make true commercial quality mowers, I now would not hesitate to buy one.
  4. Guest

We use that same mower. Very little trouble with it. Has a very touchy blade engage and it affects the electric start but other than that a good mower. Not a GREAT mower, a good mower, but for $3200 you don't get a GREAT mower.
  5. Five Star Lawn Care LLC

Five Star Lawn Care LLC LawnSite Bronze Member

Ive also got the same mower, for the ammount and conditions that i cut in it just seems to be lacking power, i would have rather had a 20 kohler on it instead
  6. fivestarlawnken

fivestarlawnken LawnSite Senior Member

hey group, ihave a 48 hydro mtd pro same as a lesco only thing is a diiferent color than a lesco . i have to agree it will work for the guy doing 10 or so yards . I couldnt pass the deal when i bought mine so i said what the heck.the one thing i do like is the manual engage and the sulky is heavy duty ive talked to some repairmen in my area and i got the biz for buying the mtd but they all said just keep up with your maint. good luck!!!!!!
  7. Earthscapes

Earthscapes LawnSite Member