1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by GrazerZ, Aug 7, 2000.

1. GrazerZ

GrazerZ LawnSite Senior Member

Hi all, just went to my local Lesco dealer this morning. To start with, i'm not very impressed! Its only about my second time going there and each time I've gone, its like the guy there feels he has to condescend to my level. Its true that I'm relatively new to this industry. But in my opinion I rather not do buisness with anyone who treats me that way.
    The problem is that here in MAINE where I live are limited for industry specific dealers, i.e. fertilizers, commercial grade equiptment, ect. And to ask a fellow landscaper where his sources are is like asking how much his account across the steet pays him.
    It is true, that at present I do not have my liscence to apply chemicals. By the way, I do not apply them myself either, ever. But I will be going for my liscense this winter. So I'm trying to think ahead and line up a GOOD distributer for next year after I have the necessary credentials to apply. So my question is,any sugesstions on distributors up my way? Or one nationaly that won't kill me with shipping. Thax for the help...
  2. geogunn

geogunn LawnSite Gold Member
    from TN

grazer--eventhough you had an unhappy couple of visits to LESCO, they are a tool for the trade that can be used to your advantage. that's considering if you aren't too upset with them.

I run a (used) LESCO machine and when I started going there I felt like they were treating me like a small fish.