Lets compare mow schedules?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by CNYScapes, May 13, 2014.

1. CNYScapes

CNYScapes LawnSite Senior Member

I am curious how everyone else schedules their mow days. I am looking to see if there is a better way.

This is how I have been doing it for close to 15 yrs.-

Monday- Mow all commercial properties and a couple residential
    Tuesday- Mow residential
    Wednesday- Mow residential
    Thursday- Mow residential

Friday- No mowing scheduled, so we use it as a overflow day if needed due to weather or if we are done mowing thursday then the lawn guys will do landscape work (with this schedule the lawn crews work very few saturdays)

How do you do it?

2. CreativeLawncareSolutions

CreativeLawncareSolutions LawnSite Silver Member

The good customers get cut towards the end of the week and the newer/bad ones get cut towards the beginning.

You can't beat the weather, though. You can't schedule for it.

3. Utah Lawn Care

Utah Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

Monday I will work on any big jobs I have like weeding for several hours, pruning a bunch of bushes etc. Tues-Friday are all residential based on the part of town they are in. My Friday lawns are in the nicest part of town and some have requested Fridays. Saturdays I usually have off, but on occasion I work on big jobs I can't fit in on Mondays.

4. OakNut

OakNut LawnSite Platinum Member

Monday - Mow ("trailer day" - 36" WB cuts)
    Tuesday - rain day/project work
    Wednesday - Mow mania! (whole BUNCHA tiny, city jobs - can be cut rain or shine - all push mower jobs - no trailer)
    Thursday - Mow (Mix of city and small/med lawns best cut with push mower - most can be cut wet - no trailer)
    Friday - Mow ("trailer day" - 36" WB cuts)
    Saturday - rain day/project work/sometimes off day
    Sunday - off day