1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Liability Insurance (who are the best providers?)

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by dmc456, Jan 25, 2004.

1. dmc456

dmc456 LawnSite Senior Member

I know there are a lot of posts about how much everyone pays for liability insurance, but most don't say who is their insurance provider. If you think your getting a good deal, don't keep it a secrete.

Please list list your coverage, deductibles, and provider. I'm looking for an inexpensive $1MM policy since I'm just starting out.
  2. craigs lawncare

craigs lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

Last year I was with farm bureau, (actually I still am) but they raised my rates about $300 to close to $1000 last year and I have never made a claim on it. I am sure there are better rates out there. Especially since I only do this part-time. Their answer to the increase was this, "Lawn maintenance is a risky business."
    The lady asked me several strange questions while I was on the phone with her regarding my business. The strangest was, do I have my own jet for the business? :rolleyes:
    These insurance companies are pathetic. They look for anyway possible to get out of paying claims, and new ways to increase your premium.
    It is time to start shopping around I guess.

TREEGODFATHER LawnSite Member

I have Arbella, about $3400 for $500k... $2k deductable.

No offense, but why such high coverage? I mean, one million dollars? How bad can you screw up to do that much damage?

Just wondering...
  4. ElephantNest

ElephantNest LawnSite Bronze Member
    from La.

Many commercial accounts require 1Million insurance.

You are telling me you pay $3400.00 a year??????? Wow, wish I was your insurance man. 500K coverage goes for about $600.00 a year here.
  5. dmc456

dmc456 LawnSite Senior Member